About Moringa Leaves

Drumstick leaves are said to normalize the blood sugars and are recommended to be used regularly. Though we had drumstick trees in our backyard, my mom never used these leaves to prepare any dishes. It was only the drumsticks that were more often used. We started using these only after I moved to Singapore. Moringa leaves can be used in so many ways. One of the best & easiest ways I chose is to make a stir fry along with a vegetable like potato or cauliflower or sweet potato. My kids eat well if prepared with potatoes, so I often chose to make it this way. Drumstick leaves stir fry goes well with rasam and steamed rice. This dish can be made in 2 ways. The first method is to boil the potatoes al dente and then temper them and stir fry with spices and curry leaves. The other way is to stir fry or roast the potatoes in a pan until cooked. Then add the drumstick leaves and stir fry. If you want to follow this method, check out this potato stir fry. Add the moringa leaves at the last stage. In this post I have shared the method to make it with boiled potatoes. You can spice up the dish as you like with coriander powder, garam masala or sambar powder. But I do not add anything except for the basic spices like green chilies, tempering spices and garlic. For a spicier dish simply add red chilli powder, sambar powder or garam masala. Related Recipes

Recipe Card